Thursday, February 21, 2013

10 Things I've Learned About Pregnancy Too Late

Since I know people get sick of baby pictures and baby stories on Facebook, I'm going to begin a blog where I can talk about my future baby to my heart's content and people who are interested can read all about me and my baby.

I'm 32 weeks along now, and I'm amazed at things I've learned about pregnancy and babies I had no idea about until I got pregnant. Many I already knew (morning sickness, growing to the size of a planet, birth is ouchie), but quite a few little things that don't feel so little any more. I'd like to share a few of them with you:

10) Pregnancy Brain is real. I was absent-minded before, but I noticed a sudden decline in brain function before I even knew I was pregnant. 

9) "Mother's Instinct" is bull. I was convinced that I was having a girl because it "felt like a girl." Go figure, I'm having a boy.

8) Everything is out to get your baby. That's right, everything. In the first trimester I was pretty good about avoiding things. By the second trimester (after reading the reasoning behind the madness), the only thing I've truly been avoiding is alcohol. Other than that... let me eat my turkey sandwich and coke in peace.

7) Baby stuff is ridiculously expensive. Before I was pregnant, I got it in my head that I wanted a theme for my baby's nursery. That was before I saw prices on all that matchy-matchy stuff. Forget it Baby, you're getting this clearance crib set from Target.

6) People will touch you. The first person to attempt to touch my belly nearly got karate chopped in the neck (sorry, Jessie). I've now learned that people aren't attempting to murder me, they just want to rub the magic belly. I understand. Just give me a warning so I don't put you in a coma by accident.

5) The weirdest symptoms. The symptoms that have been worse for me are probably the unexpected ones. Like cramping the first trimester. Seriously, what? What? I thought being pregnant meant no cramps, but nooooo, the uterus has to grow to triple its size, which kind of sucks. How about that acne to make you look like you're 16 and pregnant? Or the swollen feet? How about those leg cramps that cause you to wake up screaming in pain? Yeah, they never told me about any of these.

4) The emotional roller-coaster. I knew that pregnant women were famous for being whacked out, but I can't help but wonder how much of it has to do with hormones really or if it's because, oh, I don't know, you're FREAKING OUT over the fact that you're MAKING A PERSON, and that in itself is a little over-whelming, let alone everything else.

3) People will question you. I knew this was a common thing in child-rearing (my husband and I are planning on homeschooling and all the questioning that comes along with that, for example), but before the kid is even out? I think the two things that people are most inquisitive about is 1) that I'm planning a natural birth with a doula and 2) that I'm using cloth diapers. Some days I just want to answer the "Whys" with a simple, "Because I did my homework on the topic, decided that this is the best option for me, and if you really want to know more, look it up." Or, what's worse...

2) People will make it clear that you're not making the "right choice" or even the "possible choice". Do you know how many times I've heard, "You'll be wanting that epidural soon enough!" and similar quips? Do you not think I haven't done my research on my choice? Childbirth is the most famous pain of all pains. Believe me, I haven't made this decision lightly.

1) My baby is the most magical baby ever, and I will fight you if you say otherwise. This realization came one time when I was feeling the baby kicking and someone cooed, "Oh, I loved that feeling when I was pregnant." My instinctual response was, "You don't know what you're talking about, never has something so miraculous happened as MY baby kicking." Oh! And ultrasound pictures? Most fabulous pictures of arms and a skull and feet EVER!!

Feel free to share things you learned about pregnancy after you became pregnant!

5 comments:

  1. Well said. I couldn't agree more.
    As far as the cloth diapers go... most people thought we were nuts too. Jason's co-workers tried to talk him out of it several times. In the end, he loved it even more than me and we actually converted some of our neighbors and friends. Just go with your gut. You'll be a great mom. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I hear ya! Sadly, the questioning your every decision will only continue. You just have to stand back and realize that they mean well, but you ultimately are in charge and know your baby and yourself. We're so excited for you guys and know you'll make great parents.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Very true. We didn't send Anna to preschool this year and you'd think we were neglecting our child by the comments we got. Make the best decisions you can and trust yourself.

      Delete
  3. So true! Everyone we knew tried to talk us out of cloth diapers! Until they discovered that they aren't the same as they were 20+ yrs ago! We've made a lot of converts to cloth. Can't say I've had the pregnancy brain much, but I do remember being dumbfounded when I was told that I would bleed for six weeks after the birth....my biggest pet peeve though is all the older women (all of whom have birthed and raised their own children) who frown on me doing anything but sit on my but because I'm pregnant. I can't stop living my life or being a mom because I'm pregnant, so let me work on my house or move my furniture as I please. I've spent MANY hours this week putting in flooring at a friends house, and you know what, I feel solo much better for doing it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Very cool Victoria!. So excited for you guys. Boys are fun. (Have you paid attention to my posts?).
    Prayers and Blessings

    ReplyDelete