Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Wimpy White Boy Syndrome

Today I talked with my doula, and this phrase came up: she asked me if I had heard of 'White Baby Boy Syndrome.' I told her I hadn't. Apparently statistically speaking, Caucasian males take the longest time to develop their lungs than other gender/race combinations, and so generally do worse in NICU.

I looked it up, and came across a variation of this "syndrome" name: Wimpy White Boy Syndrome'. Call me macabre/racist/whatever, but the name just cracks me up. Click HERE to read more!

Monday, March 18, 2013

April 9th


This is when my baby will be born. Write it down: April 9th, 2013. How do I know this? Because my Aunt Debbie told me so. And so, it is written in the stars. Here's how I know this:

When my mother was pregnant with me, I was due August 23rd. At my mother's Baby Shower, my Aunt Debbie said, "Wouldn't it be neat if your baby and Andi shared a birthday?" You see, Andi is my older cousin. Her birthday is on September 2nd. My mother was horrified that Aunt Debbie dared say such a thing, because that would mean I would be ten days late!

Guess who was born on September 2nd.

I was a fat, late baby.

The world has its ways of coming full-circle. Now, Andi is expecting her second baby and is due in April, just like me. She is, however, scheduled to have a Cesarean birth on April 9th. So this weekend during my Baby Shower, I had to ask Aunt Debbie, "Do you think our babies will share a birthday, just like me and Andi?" And she agreed!

So there you have it: Aunt Debbie said that this is my baby's birthday. I will now have my baby 10 days early rather than 10 days late. Thank you, Aunt Debbie. I appreciate your blessing!

Birthday-sharing mamas with future birthday-sharing babies!

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Ways I Know I'm in 3rd Trimester

You know you're in the 3rd Trimester when...

1) You have to use counter-balances to get out of bed.
2) You have those moments where you look down, see your belly and am SHOCKED, then remember.
3) Oh yeah, speaking of which, things are getting harder to remember.
4) You have those moments where you look down, see your belly...
5) Wait, I already listed that one.
6) Does that count as something to put in the list?
7) With all the things you have left to do, you're constantly reminding yourself the bare minimum of what babies need and that you have those items.
8) You keep repeating weeks left in your head instead of weeks gone by (6 weeks, 6 weeks, 6 weeks...)
9) You keep reminding yourself that the baby comes whenever it feels like it (about 6 weeks, about 6 weeks, about 6 weeks...)
10) You're not quite sure if your feet are swelling because, well, frankly, it's been a while since you've seen them.
11) You get food amnesia (I remember getting myself a plate of that, but now the plate's empty... when did that happen??)
12) Labor doesn't sound half as bad as it used to. Sure, whatever, horrifying agony. Just make the back pain go away.
13) EVERYTHING makes you cry. Oh Taylor Swift, you were absolutely right! He WAS trouble when he walked in.
14) Everythinge ELSE makes you laugh like a maniac. Ah ahahahahaha, stupid goats!

Back to organizing my house! I have a Baby Shower this Saturday and people are coming over Friday night. I should make it look like I haven't been completely slacking, right?

Friday, March 8, 2013

Breastfeeding

This commercial cracked me up:


I may have mentioned it before, but I'm going to be breastfeeding. I definitely want to be discreet about it when it public, but I can see how much of a hassle that could become! Hopefully people have been becoming and will become more open to seeing breastfeeding and considering it normal and acceptable for a mother to breastfeed comfortably in public. It is, by the way, protected by law in 45 states, so if anyone gives me grief, I know my rights.

Pretty excited about using my hooter hider, though. Mostly because the name makes me giggle. It's very lightweight and looks like it'll be comfortable for me and baby to use.

Hee hee, hooter hider.

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Follow Up

Thank you all for your supportive comments and stories! It's good to know I have such great friends and family to join me on my journey.

Ok, so in an attempt to make a short, concise, straight-to-the-point blog post, I realize I came across a bit too one-sided. So let me make this clear: I realize things may not go as planned. I recognize that things happen. That's why I chose to give birth at a hospital as opposed to a home birth or a freestanding birth clinic. While I greatly respect and admire women who choose to go that route, since this is my first, I wanted to make absolutely sure that no surprises came my way. If I decide that I need pain meds after all, by golly I want them to be able to hand them over. If the baby is in distress and a c-section is needed, I want to be wheeled down the hallway.

I've done some serious soul-searching with the "what if" of needing a c-section. I realize that it is a possibility, and that there's a time and place for them (my husband was born Cesarean!). I recognize that I will probably have to go through a grieving process for my birth plan, but I know that with the support of friends and family (and looking at my beautiful healthy baby), it will be something I can accept and embrace.

I've written a birth plan, of which both my doctor and my doula have copies. I'm also bringing my own copy. In it, I basically repeat over and over: "Do not begin any interventions unless I request them or if there is an emergency, at which point please ask for my consent first." Hopefully by covering that point, there shouldn't be any issues in the future. (This is what I used for guidelines. Very helpful!).

I know this is a more serious blog post for the second day in a row, but I wanted to make sure that it was said. In our culture, we have so many options about, well, everything! And that includes medical treatment. And when it comes to a woman finding the "right" way to birth, the "right" answer is whatever it is works for her. Whether she decides to be medicated or non-medicated, home birth or hospital, natural or elective c-section, her decision is the best decision.

Ok, so in an attempt to lighten the mood, I want to tell you a funny joke my doctor told me:

We were talking about my birth plan and how I'm wanting to birth non-medicated. She looked at my firmly and said, "Now, if you labor too long, I will recommend interventions." My heart skipped a beat. Had I chosen someone who wouldn't support my non-medicated birth after all? I try not to jump to conclusions as I nod seriously back to her. She continues. "So like say, you've been laboring for 24 hours, I would recommend administering pitocin at that point to speed up labor."

Hahahahahaha! You're funny! Girl, at 24-hours of labor, I'll be more than ready for your druggie magic spells.

I have such a funny doctor.

Also, this awkward picture of pregnant women touching each other.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Consent in the Delivery Room

As I've mentioned in a previous blog, I'm planning on having a non-medicated birth. This decision is based on my research, belief systems, and personal preferences. I'm going to have a doula present (more on doulas later!), have a birthing tub, and probably question every intervention suggested by any nurses or doctors. Why? Because I've read up on the various interventions hospitals present to us these days, and to me, the risks these interventions pose far outweigh the benefits.

I've found a great doctor and a great hospital, which have been reported the most supportive of natural birth in the area. So you can imagine how my anxiety levels went through the roof when reading this blog post from a woman who recently gave birth not only from the hospital I'm going to give birth at, but had the same OB as me. She reports on a traumatic birthing experience with the OB who was present. In summary, she did not only NOT give informed consent, she had no opportunities to give consent at all to some of the interventions!

"Hey guysh! WTF ru doing? Guysh??"
This to me is truly awful, and I know it's happening all over the country. Women are being presented with interventions without being told the risks. Or worse, having these interventions implemented without even being asked. But we trust the doctors to do their job. We trust that they know best.

Let me say something radical here: no, not always.

I have a difficult time trusting doctors. I always have, and probably always will. That's probably why I've done so much research on all the interventions they implement during labor and delivery. And while I don't have "street cred," I hope that more women will take the initiative to educate themselves before they head out for that momentous hospital trip.

So, let me say for the record, I'm not anti-doctor. If I was, I wouldn't be giving birth at a hospital. I know why they're there: in case of an emergency. But birth in itself is NOT an emergency, it's a natural process that  is simple, beautiful, and should be treated this way.

I know people get very emotional and opinionated about birth and their own birthing experiences, and I guess I'm no different. I know everyone's experience is different. What I'm saying here though is, please educate yourself about birth before going to the hospital. Prepare yourself so you don't have to ask questions at the eleventh hour. That way, we can truly have Informed Consent and have the birth birthing experiences possible.

Look at the bliss on her face!
Out of all the books I've read, my favorite would have to be Your Best Birth by Ricki Lakes and Abby Epstein. It gives details on so many things I had questions on. It compares hospital birth versus home birth, details on interventions, the rest of the story behind the rise in c-sections in this country, and so much more.

Please ask me questions if you have any. I know I'm posting something that could get some people's feathers ruffled, but that's not my intent. Hopefully this will get some people thinking about these important issues.

Friday, March 1, 2013

Cravings!!!!!!!!

     The other day I was talking to my mother about the upcoming Baby Shower. I'm not big on cake (I know, I'm weird), but she wanted my opinion on what kind to get.
     "Oh, I don't know," I said, "Whatever you think people will like."
     "Ok," she said, "Well, I have some ideas on kinds to get. Can you help me at least narrow it down?" I give a somewhat patronizing sigh and smile. "Of course, mama."
     "Well, I was thinking maybe a lemon cake with raspberry filling..."
     "Mmmhmm," I say, half listening.
     "Or maybe a banana cake with chocolate filling..."
     Suddenly the heavens opened and a chorus of angels sang in my brain. I had no idea there was even such a thing as banana cake. "GET THAT," I say, perhaps a little too aggressively. My darling mother bust out laughing.
     "I KNEW that would get you!" she chuckled. Why? Because I've been crazing bananas and chocolate like there's no tomorrow. The best part? I normally can't stand bananas.
     I've heard a few stories on what causes food cravings in women. My favorite is that it's your body telling you what you need. That makes sense, right?... so why do I find myself craving so many sweet things? I normally don't have such a sweet tooth, but fruit, sugary cereals, and chocolate are things I'm all over now. Maybe since I was such a non-sweet eater before, it feels like I'm eating more sweet things. Or maybe my body is compensating for it?
     I don't know... but I do know that I'm about to enjoy these peanut butter fudge bars I just made.